Upcoming Events

During eight days each November hundreds of authors and thousands of readers converge on Downtown Miami for the nation's premier literary festival. And when that's over, we keep it going, month in, month out.

Tuesday, August 9 @ 8:00 pm EDT
Livestreamed,

Harlem Shuffle: A Virtual Evening With Colson Whitehead and Adam Serwer

Books & Books is excited to partner with Miami Book Fair and independent bookstores across the U.S. to present award-winning, #1 New York Times bestselling author Colson Whitehead for the paperback publication of his novel Harlem Shuffle (Anchor, $17). He will be in conversation with The Atlantic staff writer Adam Serwer. The purchase of this ticket admits (1) one person into the virtual event and includes (1) one copy of Harlem Shuffle: A Novel (Anchor, $17 + tax and fee). A fee of $6 is...

arrow to read more
Wednesday, August 10 @ 6:30 pm EDT
Livestreamed,

First Draft: A Literary Social with Morgan Talty

Miami Book Fair presents First Draft, a series of informal writing events that turn happy hours into great stories. You’re inspired. But you’re also thirsty. Bring your own drink and log in for a First Draft event and a guided writing prompt. Share your writing. You never know what you might knock out as you knock one back! A guided writing prompt with a twist. Because writing is thirsty work. Have a drink. Write a story. Have another drink. Write a better story. Miami Book Fair presents...

arrow to read more
Friday, August 12 @ 7:30 pm EDT
MDC Koubek Center, 2705 SW 3rd St., Miami, 33135,

Presentación de "Nuestra hambre en La Habana" de Enrique Del Risco & Carlos García Pandiello

El autor estará en conversación con el escritor Carlos García Pandiello. “Nuestra hambre en La Habana” es un libro que narra las memorias personales de esa posguerra sin guerra que en la Cuba de la década de 1990 recibió el curioso eufemismo de «Período Especial». En el libro, con tono tragicómico, el autor describe y explica la debacle que llevó a los gatos y las pieles de plátanos a la condición de manjares, a los cerdos a la de mascotas urbanas criadas en bañeras y a...

arrow to read more
Tuesday, August 16 @ 7:00 pm EDT
Books & Books - Coral Gables, 265 Aragon Ave., Coral Gables ,

An Evening with Deb Rogers Discussing Florida Woman

Join us for an exciting evening at Books & Books where author Deb Rogers will be discussing her debut novel Florida Woman. This event is FREE and open to the public. Books will be available for purchase the night of the event so make sure to stay after the talk for a book signing! Please RSVP only if you intend to join us. About the book: A gleefully dark and entertaining debut for fans of Kevin Wilson and Karen Russell, about one young woman’s sensational summer at a Floridian wildlife...

arrow to read more
Saturday, August 27 @ 10:00 am EDT
Livestreamed,

Taller de escritura: "Escribir desde la infancia" con Fanuel Hanán Díaz

Taller de 8 semanas, los sábados de 10:00 a.m. a 12:00 m. Del 27 de agosto al 15 de octubre. El taller tiene como objetivo estimular la creación de breves textos narrativos (o no narrativos) a partir de los recuerdos de infancia, la mirada que podemos rescatar en un viaje al pasado para narrar una escena cercana a nuestros recuerdos, contar un acontecimiento del entorno o recuperar una memoria dormida en el tiempo. Distintas técnicas de escritura permitirán darle curso a una idea y...

arrow to read more
Thursday, September 1 @ 7:00 pm EDT
Livestreamed,

Nonfiction Workshop: Writing About Family Without Making Them Hate You with Dawn Davies

Thursdays, September 1, 8, 15, 22, 2022 (4 weeks) 7:00 – 9:00 p.m. ET | Online via Zoom | Register to receive link Learn strategies to help you decide when and how (or if!) you should write about family through craft lectures, deep discussion, and writing practice. Writing about family dynamics and experiences can help us reveal truth in our lives, which is one of the fundamental goals of writing memoir. Writer Joy Castro says that in writing about family, “memoirists draw others–their...

arrow to read more
Wednesday, September 7 @ 7:00 pm EDT
Livestreamed,

15 minutos de lectura con Noel Alonso Ginoris

Desde la Feria del Libro de Miami creemos en el poder de la lectura y la escritura para estar conectados. Como parte de nuestra programación virtual de todo el año, ofrecemos “15 minutos de lectura” con la Feria del Libro de Miami, un espacio mensual donde distintos autores compartirán su obra, leída de viva voz por Facebook Live. Acompáñanos el miércoles 7 de septiembre a las 7:00 p.m. con el escritor cubano Noel Alonso Ginoris . En cada sesión de “15 minutos de lectura”, un...

arrow to read more
Wednesday, September 14 @ 2:30 pm EDT
Livestreamed,

First Draft: A Literary Social with Kathy Fish

Miami Book Fair presents First Draft, a series of informal writing events that turn happy hours into great stories. Miami Book Fair presents First Draft, a series of informal writing events that turn happy hours into great stories. You’re inspired. But you’re also thirsty. Bring your own drink and log in for a First Draft event and a guided writing prompt. Share your writing. You never know what you might knock out as you knock one back! A guided writing prompt with a twist. Because writing...

arrow to read more
Wednesday, September 21 @ 7:30 pm EDT
Miami Dade College's Koubek Center, 2705 SW 3rd Street, Miami, FL, 33135,

“Te leo un cuento” con Legna Rodríguez Iglesias y Kelly Martínez-Grandal

“Te leo un cuento” con Legna Rodríguez Iglesias y Kelly Martínez-Grandal. Dos escritoras leen sus cuentos ante el público y dialogan sobre algunas características del género y de su relación creativa con éste. En colaboración con el Koubek Center del Miami Dade College.       Legna Rodríguez Iglesias, Camagüey, 1984. Escribe la columna Irrelevante en la revista digital El Estornudo y la columna 53 Noviecitas en Hypermedia Magazine. Obtuvo el Premio Casa de Las...

arrow to read more
Thursday, September 22 @ 7:00 pm EDT
Livestreamed,

¡Tómate una copa (en casa) y escribe mejor! con Ana Schein

Una tertulia literaria guiada. Embriaga a tu editor interno y ¡exprésate con libertad desde tu casa! Así es como funciona: te damos un tema, escribes durante diez minutos. Si quieres, compartes el texto con el resto de los participantes. Hacemos una pausa para leer los textos e intercambiar opiniones mientras te tomas una copa en casa. Después repetimos la misma dinámica. TEMA: Cómo hacer entrar al lector en el mundo de la ficción. La importancia de la visibilidad Haremos dos ejercicios...

arrow to read more
Wednesday, October 5 @ 7:00 pm EDT
Livestreamed,

15 minutos de lectura con Janina Pérez de la Iglesia

Desde la Feria del Libro de Miami creemos en el poder de la lectura y la escritura para estar conectados. Como parte de nuestra programación virtual de todo el año, ofrecemos “15 minutos de lectura” con la Feria del Libro de Miami, un espacio mensual donde distintos autores compartirán su obra, leída de viva voz por Facebook Live. Acompáñanos el miércoles 5 de octubre a las 7:00 p.m. con la escritora cubana Janina Pérez de la Iglesia . En cada sesión de “15 minutos de lectura”,...

arrow to read more
Thursday, October 6 @ 7:00 pm EDT
Livestreamed,

Finger Exercises for Poets with Dorianne Laux

4 weeks: Thursdays, October 6, 13, 20, 27 | 7 – 9 p.m. EST Online | Register to receive link | Registration: $200 Write new poems and receive in-depth feedback from poet Dorianne Laux. Poet Dorianne Laux will lead participants in five writing prompts, or “finger exercises.” Writers will generate new poems and receive feedback on work drafted during this workshop. Dorianne Laux’s sixth collection, Only As the Day is Long: New and Selected Poems was named a finalist for the 2020 Pulitzer...

arrow to read more
Thursday, October 6 @ 7:00 pm EDT
Wolfson Campus, 300 NE 2nd Avenue, Miami, FL, 33132,

Homenaje a Sor Juana Inés de la Cruz con el film "Yo, la peor de todas" | Adriana Bianco, Adriana Torres Sánchez

La Feria del Libro de Miami del Miami Dade College, el Consulado de la República Argentina en Miami, el Instituto Cultural de México y la Academia Norteamericana de la Lengua Española invitan al HOMENAJE A SOR JUANA INÉS DE LA CRUZ con la exhibición del film “Yo, la peor de todas”. “Yo, la peor de todas”, un film sobre la vida y obra de la poetisa mexicana del siglo XVII, Sor Juana Inés de la Cruz, basado en el libro del escritor mexicano Octavio Paz, “Las trampa...

arrow to read more
Wednesday, October 12 @ 6:30 pm EDT
Livestreamed,

First Draft: A Literary Social with Dawn Davies

Miami Book Fair presents First Draft, a series of informal writing events that turn happy hours into great stories. You’re inspired. But you’re also thirsty. Bring your own drink and log in for a First Draft event and a guided writing prompt. Share your writing. You never know what you might knock out as you knock one back! A guided writing prompt with a twist. Because writing is thirsty work. Have a drink. Write a story. Have another drink. Write a better story. Miami Book Fair presents...

arrow to read more
Wednesday, October 19 @ 7:30 pm EDT
Miami Dade College's Koubek Center, 2705 SW 3rd Street, Miami, FL, 33135,

"Poesía a dos voces" con Lleny Díaz Valdivia y María Elena Hernández Caballero

“Poesía a dos voces” con las escritoras cubanas Lleny Díaz Valdivia y María Elena Hernández Caballero. En un mismo espacio, dos poetas comparten sus versos con el público y conversan sobre algunas claves de sus obras. EVENTO PRESENCIAL: Koubek Center del Miami Dade College 2705 SW 3rd Street. Miami, FL 33135       Lleny Díaz Valdivia (Placetas, Cuba, 1975). Poeta. En la actualidad vive en Miami. Ha dado a conocer los poemarios Sobre mi espalda desnuda otro silencio...

arrow to read more

Creating Cultural Miami = Priceless

Support the Miami Book Fair and be part of Miami’s commitment to expanding and strengthening Miami’s literary culture.