Upcoming Events

During eight days each November hundreds of authors and thousands of readers converge on Downtown Miami for the nation's premier literary festival. And when that's over, we keep it going, month in, month out.

Saturday, September 26 @ 3:00 pm EDT
Livestreamed,

Speak Up: Creative Writing + Performance (Fall 2020)

Saturdays, September 19 – November 14 / 3:00 – 4:00 p.m. EST Join us online for Speak Up, a creative writing program supporting the artistic and professional growth of teens. In this virtual mini-series of creative writing workshops, teens will partner with experienced teaching artists to empower the creative writing process, from drafting to performance to publishing. The program is open to all teens, and is as free of charge as it is free of homework. No previous experience...

arrow to read more
Wednesday, September 30 @ 5:00 pm EDT
Livestreamed,

La Feria del Libro de Miami presenta dos novedades de la editorial Páginas de Espuma

En directo desde Madrid, el editor Juan Casamayor conversará con el escritor cubano Ronaldo Menéndez sobre La nieta de Pushkin y con el argentino Marcelo Luján, autor de La claridad. Sobre La claridad de Marcelo Luján: Los seis cuentos que constituyen La claridad –título que mereció el VI Premio Ribera del Duero– anuncian todo lo que deseamos y no alcanzamos, los miedos y los arrebatos, el amor y la traición y los pequeñísimos instantes de dicha. El brillo de la claridad es más...

arrow to read more
Thursday, October 1 @ 7:00 pm EDT
Livestreamed,

A Virtual Evening with Darcey Steinke and Ada Calhoun

Books & Books and Miami Book Fair present An Evening with Darcey Steinke In conversation with Ada Calhoun discussing Flash Count Diary. A brave, brilliant, and unprecedented examination of menopause. Menopause hit Darcey Steinke hard. First came hot flashes. Then insomnia. Then depression. As she struggled to express what was happening to her, she came up against a culture of silence. Throughout history, the natural physical transition of menopause has been viewed as something to deny,...

arrow to read more
Saturday, October 3 @ 1:00 pm EDT
Livestreamed,

The National Book Award for Young People’s Literature: A Virtual Book Club

Join us for a free moderated book discussion each Saturday from 1:00 – 2:00 p.m. EST. September 26 – December 12 (no discussion Nov. 21 or 28) In partnership with the National Book Foundation, Miami Book Fair will be hosting a series of online book discussions for young people, creating an opportunity for dialogue between NYC and Miami students around this year’s National Book Award honorees. Each week, a moderator will facilitate open discussion among students featuring one of the ten...

arrow to read more
Saturday, October 3 @ 3:00 pm EDT
Livestreamed,

Speak Up: Creative Writing + Performance (Fall 2020)

Saturdays, September 19 – November 14 / 3:00 – 4:00 p.m. EST Join us online for Speak Up, a creative writing program supporting the artistic and professional growth of teens. In this virtual mini-series of creative writing workshops, teens will partner with experienced teaching artists to empower the creative writing process, from drafting to performance to publishing. The program is open to all teens, and is as free of charge as it is free of homework. No previous experience...

arrow to read more
Sunday, October 4 @ 2:00 pm EDT
Livestreamed,

Love in the Afternoon with Nick Hornby in conversation with Carl Hiaasen

Books & Books and Miami Book Fair present “Love in the Afternoon with Nick Hornby in conversation with Carl Hiaasen” discussing Just Like You.  This warm, wise, highly entertaining twenty-first century love story is about what happens when the person who makes you happiest is someone you never expected Lucy used to handle her adult romantic life according to the script she’d been handed. She met a guy just like herself: same age, same background, same hopes and dreams; they got...

arrow to read more
Monday, October 5 @ 7:00 pm EDT
Livestreamed,

A Virtual Evening with Nancy Pearl and Jeff Schwager

Books & Books and Miami Book Fair present “An Evening with Nancy Pearl and Jeff Schwager” discussing The Writer’s Library: The Authors You Love on the Books That Changed Their Live. With a Foreword by Susan Orlean, twenty-three of today’s living literary legends, including Donna Tartt, Viet Thanh Nguyen, Andrew Sean Greer, Laila Lalami, and Michael Chabon, reveal the books that made them think, brought them joy, and changed their lives in this intimate, moving, and...

arrow to read more
Wednesday, October 7 @ 5:00 pm EDT
Livestreamed,

15 minutos de lectura con Antonio Ortuño

Desde la Feria del Libro de Miami creemos en el poder de la lectura y la escritura para estar conectados. Como parte de nuestra programación virtual ofrecemos 15 minutos de lectura con la Feria del Libro de Miami, un espacio semanal donde distintos autores compartirán su obra, leída de viva voz por Facebook Live. Acompáñanos el miércoles 7 de octubre a las 5 p.m. con Antonio Ortuño. En cada sesión, un escritor invitado leerá sus obras en directo. Acompáñanos con las lecturas...

arrow to read more
Wednesday, October 7 @ 6:00 pm EDT
Livestreamed,

A Virtual Evening with V.E. Schwab and Rebecca Roanhoarse

Books & Books and Miami Book Fair present “An Evening with V.E. Schwab In conversation with Rebecca Roanhoarse” discussing The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue. In the vein of The Time Traveler’s Wife and Life After Life, The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue is New York Times bestselling author V. E. Schwab’s genre-defying tour de force. A Life No One Will Remember. A Story You Will Never Forget. France, 1714: in a moment of desperation, a young woman makes a Faustian bargain to live...

arrow to read more
Wednesday, October 7 @ 6:30 pm EDT
Livestreamed,

First Draft: A Literary Social with Dawn Davies

A guided writing prompt with a twist. Because writing is thirsty work. Have a drink. Write a story. Have another drink. Write a better story. Miami Book Fair presents First Draft, a series of informal writing events that turn happy hours into great stories. You’re inspired. But you’re also thirsty. Bring your own drink and log in for a First Draft event and a guided writing prompt. Share your writing. You never know what you might knock out as you knock one back! Theme: The Writer as...

arrow to read more
Saturday, October 10 @ 1:00 pm EDT
Livestreamed,

The National Book Award for Young People’s Literature: A Virtual Book Club

Join us for a free moderated book discussion each Saturday from 1:00 – 2:00 p.m. EST. September 26 – December 12 (no discussion Nov. 21 or 28) In partnership with the National Book Foundation, Miami Book Fair will be hosting a series of online book discussions for young people, creating an opportunity for dialogue between NYC and Miami students around this year’s National Book Award honorees. Each week, a moderator will facilitate open discussion among students featuring one of the ten...

arrow to read more
Saturday, October 10 @ 3:00 pm EDT
Livestreamed,

Speak Up: Creative Writing + Performance (Fall 2020)

Saturdays, September 19 – November 14 / 3:00 – 4:00 p.m. EST Join us online for Speak Up, a creative writing program supporting the artistic and professional growth of teens. In this virtual mini-series of creative writing workshops, teens will partner with experienced teaching artists to empower the creative writing process, from drafting to performance to publishing. The program is open to all teens, and is as free of charge as it is free of homework. No previous experience...

arrow to read more
Thursday, October 15 @ 5:00 pm EDT
Livestreamed,

¡Tómate una copa (en casa) y escribe mejor!, con Ainara Mantellini

Una tertulia literaria guiada. Embriaga a tu editor interno y ¡exprésate con libertad desde la cuarentena! ¡El COVID 19 no impide que nos contactemos a través de la escritura! Así es como funciona: te damos un tema, escribes durante diez minutos. Si quieres, compartes el texto con el resto de los participantes. Hacemos una pausa para leer los textos e intercambiar opiniones mientras te tomas una copa en casa. Después repetimos la misma dinámica. Tema: Ahora que te veo bien. Detalles...

arrow to read more
Friday, October 16 @ 7:00 pm EDT
Livestreamed,

A Virtual Evening with Brad Meltzer and Christopher Eliopoulos

Books & Books and Miami Book Fair present “An Evening with Brad Meltzer and Christopher Eliopoulos” discussing I Am Anne Frank and I Am Ben Franklin. The New York Times bestselling Ordinary People Change the World series that NPR.org credits with “saving the day” in this extraordinary time welcomes the 21st and 22nd additions to the collection this fall:I AM ANNE FRANK and I AM BENJAMIN FRANKLIN.  What originally began as a passion project has become today’s leading and...

arrow to read more
Saturday, October 17 @ 1:00 pm EDT
Livestreamed,

The National Book Award for Young People’s Literature: A Virtual Book Club

Join us for a free moderated book discussion each Saturday from 1:00 – 2:00 p.m. EST. September 26 – December 12 (no discussion Nov. 21 or 28) In partnership with the National Book Foundation, Miami Book Fair will be hosting a series of online book discussions for young people, creating an opportunity for dialogue between NYC and Miami students around this year’s National Book Award honorees. Each week, a moderator will facilitate open discussion among students featuring one of the ten...

arrow to read more

Creating Cultural Miami = Priceless

Support the Miami Book Fair and be part of Miami’s commitment to expanding and strengthening Miami’s literary culture.