An Evening with Deb Rogers Discussing Florida Woman

Tuesday, August 16 @ 7:00 pm

Books & Books – Coral Gables

265 Aragon Ave., Coral Gables , United States

Share on Facebook Tweet about this on Twitter

Join us for an exciting evening at Books & Books where author Deb Rogers will be discussing her debut novel Florida Woman.

This event is FREE and open to the public. Books will be available for purchase the night of the event so make sure to stay after the talk for a book signing! Please RSVP only if you intend to join us.

About the book:

A gleefully dark and entertaining debut for fans of Kevin Wilson and Karen Russell, about one young woman’s sensational summer at a Floridian wildlife center for exotic monkeys.

Jamie is a Florida Woman. She grew up on the beach, thrives in humidity, has weathered more hurricanes than she can count, and now, after going viral for an outrageous crime she never meant to commit in the first place, she has the requisite headline to her name. But when the chance comes for her to escape viral infamy and imminent jail time by taking a community service placement at Atlas, a shelter for rescued monkeys, it seems like just the fresh start Jamie needs to finally get her life back on track — until it’s not.

Something sinister stirs in the palmetto woods surrounding her cabin, and secrets lurk among the three beguiling women who run the shelter and affectionately take Jamie under their wing for the summer. She hears the distant screams of monkeys each night; the staff perform cryptic, lakeside sacrifices to honor Atlas; and the land, which has long been abandoned by citrus farmers and theme park developers alike, now proves to be dangerously, relentlessly untamed.

As Jamie ventures deeper into the offbeat world and rituals of Atlas, her summer is soon set to inspire an even stranger Florida headline than she ever could’ve imagined.

About the author:

DEB ROGERS  is a diversity consultant and freelance writer in St. Augustine, Florida. She was previously the Pop Culture editor of SheKnows, national producer of the Listen to Your Mother Show storytelling series, and LGBTQ Community Leader for BlogHer, where she was the host of the annual Queerosphere gathering. She tweets at @debontherocks.

Details

Date:
Tuesday, August 16
Time:
7:00 pm

Other

Language
English
Occurrence
All Year

Venue

Books & Books – Coral Gables
265 Aragon Ave., Coral Gables , United States
+ Google Map